Fall Upstate

While I love getting around NYC by bicycle, I also cherish getting out of the city and reconnecting with a slower pace of life. Just 2 hours north of the city, it’s another world entirely. My husband was looking through my photos from this last weekend and he lamented to me how he misses out on the spectacular scenery of the Harlem Valley (start of the Berkshires). We both ‘see’ the same landscapes, but since I am most often on bike…I get to see it at a slower speed and drink in the beauty.  He realizes that in the car, most of it is just a passing blur to him. Yes, he pedals in NYC but has yet to join me upstate.

Most of the locals know me because of my bike. Meeting a neighbor recently, they asked me if I knew about the woman who takes the train to Wassaic and rides the rest of the way to Millerton and then up the mountain. Well, that’d be me. I haven’t done the train + bike commute in a few weeks, but I still commute into town each day and when I have the time, I’ll take off on a ride to visit friends a few miles north or just explore the surrounding countryside.

I just want to share a smidgen of the beauty you can experience. Yes, you can do it by car too, but on a bicycle…you get the full experience. Fall is almost in full bloom, though you can enjoy pedaling along these roads all year long…I know I have.

On top of the world

Down the mountain

In the valley

Millerton

These last few photos, I was not on bike. But I have pedaled these roads countless times and will never cease to be amazed at being so close to the sky. This was at the onset of a hailstorm. I’ve been on bike as the weather has started to turn. It can be both amazing and frightening. Depending on how far you have to go yet.

The pay-off at the end of the day was this beautiful double rainbow. Serendipity. What more can you ask for?

About bikepeacenyc

Just another NYer who is happier when on a bike. Gezellig fietsen. Advocate for Liveable Complete Streets.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

