Impressions

NYC post Sandy. I just don’t have the words to properly express my thoughts. My heart is breaking for those who lost so much. Where I live and work, it’s almost as nothing happened. Even though it doesn’t seem entirely ‘right’ to include the ‘happy’ photos I’ve taken over the last few weeks, I feel it’s important. I’m not going to say much more except that I hope the photos I’m sharing invoke in you the same emotions I’ve been feeling. As for the things I’ve seen and the photos I’m not sharing with you, I feel that sometimes it’s better not to exploit the trials of those less fortunate than you. We’ve got a lot of work to do.

Arrival of NYCbiketrain conductor, Nov 2.2012

Upright cycling on an uncomplete street UWS

Happy smiling faces at the TA BikeNYC commuter station in Times Square

Orthodox Cycle Chic on BikeNYC

Tourists on BikeNYC, Times Square four days post Sandy

These guys were displaced due to power outages in downtown Manhattan post-Sandy. They were making the best of it with a good sense of humor.

A fellow BikeNYC commuter amused by the antics of the two guys in the previous picture

 BikeNYC commuter , Nov 2, 2012

BikeNYC downtown, Nov 4, 2012

BikeNYC heading home over the Williamsburg Bridge, Nov 4 2012

Enjoying a conversation while pedaling through Central Park, Nov 10, 2012

Central Park, Tourist on BikeNYC, Nov 10, 2012

Meeting up with my friend Albert on our way to volunteer in Red Hook, Nov 11, 2012

Coffey Park, Red Hook, Brooklyn. I won’t show you pictures of the long lines of people waiting for aid. It’s not right even though my heart breaks for them. Thankfully, Ocuppy Sandy and the Red Hook Initiative have been there daily for them. 
The sad reality, nearly two weeks after Sandy: no heat or hot water for 3000 residents of Red Hook. And that’s only Red Hook. A bus offering hot showers to those in need. The disaster zone is much larger.

Old streetcars in Red Hook.

Volunteer Information Nov 11, 2012. Changing by the minute

Utter irony, a beautiful photo of the NYC harbor from Brooklyn one and a half weeks after Sandy wreaked her havoc. A fifteen foot storm surge came from these waters, submerging homes in Red Hook in 8 feet of water in 15 minutes.

A flicker of hope in the midst of disaster. A reading library set up in Coffey Park, Red Hook,     Brooklyn

The difference between the person on bike in the first photo and the person standing with a suitcase in the immediate photo above illustrate what breaks my heart. Those of us who can volunteer our time are luckier than those who need. No matter how resilient or resourceful you are; sometimes you really need the help of others.

I’m not perfect, I’m not amazing, I’m not special.  I’m just one human being. I was able to give a few hours of my time last weekend to help those most in need. I’ll be giving a few more hours of my time again tomorrow. I’m not special. I’m not superhuman. I just care. Hope you do too. Do what you can do.

About bikepeacenyc

Just another NYer who is happier when on a bike. Gezellig fietsen. Advocate for Liveable Complete Streets.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

