Nice to Finally Meet You Citibike

Today: May 27, 2013 at 11am EST, bicycles officially became part of NYC’s public transportation system. I was upstate for the exact timing of this momentous occasion, and calmed fed my excitement by checking in on the #bikenyc twitter hashtag. My friends were letting me know- it was a great day in NYC.

When I got back to the city, I went online to activate my key fob- only to realize I had forgotten to write down my user name & password. So I had a little delay as I waited to get through to a CitibikeNYC rep. Once I got through it was easy as pie to log on, activate my key and choose a new password.

It was time to finally meet my Citibike.

Founding Member #2078

Founding Member #2078

Shout out and thanks to Cristina & Chris(pictured below) who kindly agreed to snap a pic of my ‘maiden’ city bike voyage. As we talked, turned out that they also lived on the UWS and lived in the Phase 2 launch zone but were having a blast giving CitibikeNYC a spin today.

Chris & Cristina

Chris & Cristina

Soon after I set off with my first CitibikeNYC, another delight pedaled into my world.

Kristian, Xavier, & Jonathan

Kristian, Xavier, & Jonathan

We rode together for a few blocks, talking about….well, I mean really, what else is there to talk about besides bikes? Turns out Jonathan (correction: Xavier) works at Tread up in Washington Heights and built all three of these tall bikes. Riding with these guys sure brought a lot of smiles to people’s faces.

Smile for BikeNYC

Smile for BikeNYC

At one point, a mounted NYPD even decided to ‘race’ alongside us and try to catch up.

NYPD & #BikenYC

NYPD & #BikenNYC

My new friends turned off at 42nd street, and while the ride wasn’t quite as fun, it was still very enjoyable. People noticed that I was on a Citibike and I got a lot of thumbs up, smiles from pedestrians and even some thumbs up and questioning from NYC cab drivers. All positive.

It's a little hard to see, but this cabbie is giving Citibike & BikeNYC a thumb's up!

It’s a little hard to see, but this cabbie is giving Citibike & BikeNYC a thumb’s up!

As I continued on in the 9th Ave Bike lane, I spotted David Byrne on his #bikenyc. Phew, one more item checked off my bucket list.

He doesn't own a car.

He doesn’t own a car.

I redocked my first Citibike in Chelsea. And took out my second Citibike for the return trip back to my bike on Broadway in Midtown.

29th & 9th Ave

29th & 9th Ave

I pedaled home via the 8th Ave bike lane. Approaching Port Authority, I got really excited since I noted a dearth of pedestrians in the 8th Avenue bike lane. Then I remembered it was Memorial Day. Oh well, I’ll keep dreaming. (In the meantime #bikenyc, please keep using this lane. It’s the only way to claim our space)

8th Avenue BikeNYC lane...finally not clogged with peds

8th Avenue BikeNYC lane…finally not clogged with peds

Since I had left my panniers at home when I took off on my own personal bike, I realized that I didn’t have lights with me, so I wanted to get home before dark. I didn’t do very well at this, since I kept running into more people who were gung-ho Citibike founders and people on foot who were extremely curious about Citibike.

I had a blast explaining how the system works to people who didn’t understand it yet. The amazing thing- once I explained the system, people were overwhelmingly excited about it and wanted to join.

It was even better when I had fellow #bikeNYCer’s to help me spread the word. Thanks Shruti!

Shruti loves BikeNYC & Citibike.

Shruti loves BikeNYC & Citibike.

Thumbs Up!

Thumbs Up!

Citbike & BikeNYC guaranteed smiles.

Citbike & BikeNYC guaranteed smiles.

It’s been an exciting and historic day here in NYC. It’s only going to keep getting better. The car isn’t going away, but it’s going to take up a little less space and it’s being replaced by people- on bicycles. Thank you Mayor Bloomberg for supporting our amazing NYC DOT commissioner Janette Sadik Khan. Thank you to Transportation Alternatives for providing a voice to people who believe in safer more human streets. And finally, thank you to each and every one of you who chose bikes or supported #bikenyc. We’re getting closer to a more livable beautiful NYC every day. It resembles a certain city in Europe where I lived for some time- Amsterdam. We are New Amsterdam. Let’s not forget our heritage.

And if you still haven’t signed up for Citibike…go here and do it now.

About bikepeacenyc

Just another NYer who is happier when on a bike. Gezellig fietsen. Advocate for Liveable Complete Streets.
This entry was posted in advocacy, bikenyc, bikeshare, citibike, cycle chic, social cycling, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nice to Finally Meet You Citibike

  1. Pingback: RT @bikepeacenyc: ‘Nice to Finally Meet You #Citibike’ http://t.co/ortTubZDQO > awesome. #citibikenyc #bikenyc #nyc | NYMetroWorkout.com - Exercising for fun and fitness in the New York City area by Anthony Olszewski

  2. Pingback: RT @amsterdamized: RT @bikepeacenyc: ‘Nice to Finally Meet You #Citibike’ http://t.co/ortTubZDQO > awesome. #citibikenyc #bikenyc #nyc | NYMetroWorkout.com - Exercising for fun and fitness in the New York City area by Anthony Olszewski

  3. Edward says:

    Ha! Got a chuckle from your David Byrne sighting and, oh yeah, he doesn’t own a car.

  4. Cristina says:

    perfect post – let’s just hope that when citibike opens to the public next week it truly explodes all over NY :). Thanks for the photo!

Leave a Reply

