Simple Joys

I was upstate on my way into town when I came across the little boy pictured below. It was the day before the official launch of Citibike in NYC. Even though this kid has no idea what a bike share system is, or even a concept of what life in NYC is remotely like- his love of his bicycle resonated with me.

When he saw me, my bicycle and my camera- he just kept riding in circles, showing off his skill at riding a bike, possibly dreaming of showing me the way to somewhere else.

 His joy equates to the joy that I and so many others felt on Monday with the launch of Citibike. It’s a new found form of independence. It’s simple. It’s sheer joy. We should all experience such happiness in our lives. Choose bikes and you just might find out what happiness really is.

Sheer Joy

Sheer Joy

Independence

Independence

And freedom.

And freedom.

About bikepeacenyc

Just another NYer who is happier when on a bike. Gezellig fietsen. Advocate for Liveable Complete Streets.
This entry was posted in advocacy, bicycle upsate, bicylcling upstate ny, bikenyc, bikeshare, cycle chic, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Simple Joys

  1. invisiblevisibleman says:

    Bikepeace,

    I wrote a little while ago about the joy of teaching children to cycle ( http://invisiblevisibleman.blogspot.com/2012/02/why-family-for-me-is-bit-about-bike.html ). One of my main points was that it’s an activity children learn once they’re old enough to be communicative, but before the cynicism of adolescence. They learn it at the age when the main adults in their lives are heroes to them.

    These beautiful pictures put me in mind of that.

    All the best,

    Invisible.

Leave a Reply

