Have Bike Can Travel

Alex

Every time I’m at Grand Central waiting to catch the train upstate, I can’t help but notice other people with bikes. Most of the time, I see lycra clad racers or people headed up for recreational rides. Last weekend, as I noticed the one other person with a bike in the concourse…I realized I knew him.

I’ve known Alex Tressor for nearly 20 years now. He’s a part of the NYC dance community- teacher, performer and choreographer. Only knowing him in the context of the dance studio or running into him on the Upper West Side, it was a pleasant surprise to see him with a bike.

He was on his way to Connecticut to teach a ballet master class at a university and then planned to ride the beach afterwards. What a great way to spend a beautiful summer Saturday.

In the little more than two years I’ve been using Metro North and my bike to get to my cabin upstate, this is the first time I’ve run into someone else using the same combination of transport modes to actually get from A to B (as opposed to ‘just going for a ride’). I’m sure there are others, but I’ve yet to meet or run into them.

By the way, if you do dance and want to take a great ballet class- I highly recommend Alex’s class at Steps on Broadway (Mon-Sat/430-6pm). Not only is it a great class that makes you think and challenges your technique, Alex has a wicked sense of humor. If you don’t find yourself laughing at some point during class, you’re either deaf or are seriously lacking in the humor department.

Great running into you and your #bikeNYC Alex!

Happy pedaling.

About bikepeacenyc

Just another NYer who is happier when on a bike. Gezellig fietsen. Advocate for Liveable Complete Streets.
This entry was posted in advocacy, bikenyc, cycle chic, mixedmodes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

